Return to Headlines

Staff End-of-Year Awards Celebration

Teachers of the Year

Congratulations to the GISD Teachers of the Year! The Secondary Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Whitney Carden. Whitney is a 7th grade teacher at GJH. The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Taryn Krantz. Taryn is a first grade teacher at Edison Elementary.

The announcement came during the end-of-year service virtual awards celebration on Friday, May 29th.  The following Monday, Carden and Krantz were presented with the award. These two deserving teachers were nominated during the year by their campus principal and then selected by their peers as campus teacher of the year. After reviewing the thorough applications by all campus teachers of the year, a district level committee then determined who would be our district teachers of the year.

Whitney and Taryn will now go on to represent GISD in the ESC 11 Teacher of the Year contest.

Announcements of campus teachers of the year were made earlier this spring: Cecily Weaver (GHS), Carden (GJH), Kaitlin Amos (Lee), Carey Bean (Chalmers), Krantz (Edison), and Falicia Bell (Head Start).

GISD proudly honored five retirees this year, who have dedicated an incredible 137 years of service to the students of GISD and 175 years total in education. Glenn Fry, Chalmers Principal, leaves GISD with 49 years of experience, 39 of those with GISD. Lois Fry, Lee PEIMS clerk, came to GISD 39 years ago, and leaves with a total of 44 years of service. Linda Cox, Curriculum Coordinator, dedicated to GISD the last 8 years of her 30-year career. Donna Patterson, Lee Counselor, has a total of 27 years of experience, with all but one of those with GISD. Lastly, Pattie Hellinger, Custodian, is retiring after 25 years serving GISD.

Service Awards
At the virtual end-of-year celebration, Gainesville ISD honored those who have reached a milestone in years of service to the district.  Each of these staff members will receive a token of appreciation when the staff are all brought back together again in August for Convocation. 

35 years:  Vikki Estes
30 years: Vance Wells, Zach Terry
25 years:  Cindy Dulock
20 years: Traci Skinner, Kelli Bond, Melissa Henderson, Jana Stoffels, Vickie Watson, Teria Ravert, Deborah Erb, Kathleen Schroeder
15 years: David Wisian, William Hendricks, Juana Martin, Tracy Henry, Melissa Bryan, Jill Linnell, Elizabeth Foster, Robin Hobbs
10 years: Ofelia Rodriguez, Nicole Rich, Keli Royal, Julie Lang, Lindsay Dodson

5 years: Lexi Wells, Kristal Young, James Polk, Edwina Barnes, Kira Perkins, Windy Fulmer, Bonnie Cox, Janet Crawford, Michelle McDonald, Nancy Rakestraw, Ashley Weir, Kristy Wilson, Marlen Fisher, Isreal Garcia, Tracy Slovacek, Ceci Garcia, Tori Godi, Dienitza Villa, Konner Ward, JR Spikeston, Klay Jones, Amy Bland